My Taste of Music

“Why do you like that?”
“Do you even understand it?”
“I don’t know them.”

Here are some of the questions and responses I get when I share my interests in music. I listen to Jpop, even if I do not fully understand it (I’m studying Japanese though, for fun). Or, you know one of those instances when a close friend is so bored that he/she grabs the earphones and listen to what you are listening or if someone just wants to borrow your phone and invade your privacy….these questions come up.

I’m sorry I don’t have much interest on what most people call pop music which in my opinion either have a word repeated in a catchy tune, some techno effect, about heartbreak, unrequited love or the singer getting more and more deprived of their clothes every time they release a single.

I just love listening to songs with content applied with the tune that suits my taste, and I found both in J-Pop. Most probably this was brought about by my habit of watching anime when I was a kid and got used to it. Spending a lot of time alone and rarely spending it to interact and influence by society around me must have caused this different taste of music.

As of now I listen particularly to Hey!Say!JUMP and other Johnny’s Artists like Nakayama Yuma, NEWS and KATTUN. (Aside from their music, I adore and flail to their gorgeous faces). Before that it was mostly anime music sung by Kalafina, composed by Yuki Kajiura and other various artists. Before that I believe it was Christian Songs because I studied in a Catholic School and my father a very religious man.

As of now I just love these songs: Candle, Gift and Tada Mae E by Hey!Say!JUMP. Here are the translations I got (credits to the translators)

Tada Gift candle

People wonder why I love listening to such music, and these are some of the reasons why.

I listen to English songs also but not always. I remember the English songs that made it to my shuffle are either 90’s song or went popular a few years back. I liked Rihanna’s “Umbrella”…..then that was replaced by Katy Perry’s “Firework” and Adele’s “Rolling in the Deep”(after Breaking up with my ex). I also love the songs of Bruno Mars like “Just the Way You Are”, “Grenade” and “When I was your Man.” Lately, I’m fond of “All of Me” by John Legend and the revival of old songs by local artists.

Japanese Vs English songs?
Let’s just put it this way, I am more likely to memorize the lyrics of a japanese song and sing it properly than an english song.

I just love Japan. (….this is such a random ending)

One thought on “My Taste of Music

Leave a Reply

