Past Tracks

Cold breeze through the open window of the taxi numbs my cheeks. It’s 11 o’clock in the evening. The warm orange light of street lamps illuminates the empty street of Baguio CIty. I listen to my tunes while the taxi driver steps on the gas making the usual 20 minute travel time from our house to where I work only 5-10m minutes. Barely finishing 3 songs, I get off the taxi and my night begins.

I listen to those tracks now. Clearly remembering those times I worked part-time. I got paid, able to regularly deposit in my savings account, have breakfast in nearby bistros and a cup of coffee or tea at Starbucks. In fact I miss those times, despite my life starts at night, barely seeing anyone even my parents and exhausted to do what I want to do. I miss it.

But that job wasn’t for me. It was a part-time job, I took seriously. I felt the rewards of hard-earned money and the pleasure of saving and spending them. I felt happy for saving 2000 php a month and the rest spent on food I like to eat at the spur of the moment.

I miss them, especially now I am unemployed. Feeling useless and bankrupt (meaning I don’t have a money of my own and barely depositing to my savings account unlike before). I just finished my resume and finalizing my documents. Still I am nervous.

I may face a lot of rejections. Some may not even accept my resume, ignore it, make it scrap or not even contact me at all. Again, I am entrusting everything to God.

I hope I get a job. I have to get a job. Time is running. Time waits for no one.

I am near my freedom. I have to claim it as soon as I can.

3 thoughts on “Past Tracks

  1. Do not be afraid of rejections. 🙂
    “Time waits for no one.” I’m sure I’ve heard that in a movie; can’t remember.

    Like

Leave a Reply

