Moonlight Reunion

Full moon on the Night of the winter solstice. The cold moonlight shines over the warm lights of the bustling City of Pines. As the Christmas countdown begins, the wind begins to blow colder each night.

I’m waiting beside the lamp post, opposite your apartment, feeling a bit warm from its orange light. With my gray coat over a lavender polo and cerulean scarf, which were suppose to keep me warm, but for some reason they were not working. As I wait for you, I recalled how I invited you to go with me tonight. I chuckled and blushed, as two young ladies in their pajamas passed by, probably thinking I’m crazy but they don’t matter

Hey! Are you free on the 22nd?

Yeah, what’s up?

Let’s go to the batch reunion together.

Yeah sure. As long as the food is free.

Eat all you can. Just wear something formal.

Just like that. Yes, it wasn’t dramatic, no awkwardness, no tension nor hesitation. You just said yes. Finally it felt like I was the only choice. I own this night and I’m happy the you’re willing to accept that I want to share it with you. All the rejections, pretenses and frustration I had, was no longer worth looking back to because tonight you said yes. At this point, I only want to see you go out of your apartment, look for me and see me waiting for you. I have no idea how this night would go, but I’m sure it will be better than the nights before.

Your apartment door opened, it was your room mate. You came out. You wore your white coat with the collar outline in black over a powder blue polo. You waved to break my brief trance. You crossed the road, as you come nearer your smile becomes clearer, your eyes slowly capturing every stars in the universe and you suddenly stole the moonlight. Tonight, you are the night sky I had always looked up to. The night sky I always tell my secrets, thoughts and wishes to. Tonight, the universe allowed me to steal the night sky.

I offered my arm, and you took it. Your hand was shaking, and I held it firmly.
I knew from that point, tonight will be perfect.
I’ll make sure that even if the stars leave your eyes
The moonlight hides and the sun rises tomorrow morning
You’ll still be in my arms, holding my hand, kissing your forehead.

And all I can say is…

“Let’s go, to the reunion. We’re late.”

Leave a comment